Current Board of Directors

John Koontz, Chair of the Board City of Champaign, voting member

John Koontz is the Chief Information Officer for Wolfram Research Inc., where he has helped maintain Wolfram’s competitive advantage in the rapidly expanding information economy. During his tenure, he has managed the explosive growth of Wolfram Alpha as well as being instrumental in the development and release of the Wolfram Cloud line of products. John has previously held positions with Eastern Illinois University, Argonne National Laboratory, NASA, and has a 20+ year involvement with Project Gutenberg.
Charles SmythCharles Smyth, Vice Chair of the Board

Urbana City Council Member, Ward 1 and Mayor Pro Tem
City of Urbana, voting memberLong time Urbana resident, 15 year member of the Urbana City Council, and retired U of I IT Professional
Mark Henderson
Mark D. Henderson

Chief Information Officer, University of Illinois at Urbana-Champaign
University of Illinois, voting member Mark D. Henderson, the Chief Information Officer at the University of Illinois at Urbana-Champaign has more than 30 years’ experience in higher education and the private sector in positions of increasing responsibilities. The CIO's duties include overall responsibility for the central academic IT organization (Technology Services at Illinois), IT governance, and participating in national and international organizations and consortia. Prior to becoming the University of Illinois CIO in the Fall of 2014, Henderson was the interim vice president and chief information officer for information technology services at Case Western Reserve University in Cleveland. He also held leadership positions at General Electric and the University of Maryland, College Park.
Paul HixsonPaul HixsonCity of Urbana, voting memberPaul Hixson has lived in Urbana since 1970. Currently retired, Paul worked 45 years for the University, the last 3 of which he served as Campus CIO during the time when the UC2B project was just getting underway. He was appointed to serve on the original UC2B Board of Directors by the Campus Chancellor and stepped down when he retired from the University in September 2014. In July 2016, when Brandon Bowersox-Johnson moved out of the community, the Mayor of Urbana appointed Hixson to replace Bowersox-Johnson on the UC2B Board.
Gordy HultenCity of Champaign, voting member
Pete ResnickPete ResnickCity of Urbana, voting memberPete Resnick is a Principal Engineer at Qualcomm Technologies, Inc., where he has worked since 1994 specializing in Internet technologies. During his tenure, he has been an active participant with the Internet Engineering Task Force (IETF), the international body that creates all Internet protocol standards. He served a 2-year term as a member of the Internet Architecture Board (IAB, doing architectural oversight of Internet technologies) as well as a 4-year term on the Internet Engineering Steering Group (IESG, the 15-member standards approval body). He has been involved in UC2B since it's inception, when he served as chair of the Broadband Access Committee of the Champaign-Urbana Cable and Telecommunications Commission.
Dennis SchmidtDennis Schmidt, Board Secretary

City of Champaign, voting member

Dennis Schmidt is the Public Works Director for the City of Champaign. He is responsible for the operation and maintenance of the City's Infrastructure, fleet, parking, buildings and grounds. He is responsible for the City's Capital Improvements, curbside and multi-family recycling programs.
Mike SmeltzerUniversity of Illinois, voting member
Tracy Smith

Director of Research IT, University of Illinois at Urbana-Champaign
University of Illinois, voting member
Leslie Lundy, Board Treasurer, Ex officio

Leslie worked as the City Accountant for the City of Champaign until her retirement. She was involved in the operational side of the UC2B start-up during her tenure at the City, and now provides accounting services to UC2B NFP. Her past experience includes working in public accounting and at Country Insurance/Illinois Farm Bureau.